d i s c o v e r i n g monsters

The Age of the 1,270 Mile Argument

Posted in internet, love by Jules on 27 February 2010

The internet allows for some tremendously important arguments to take place. Like this one:

Me: I don’t know if you’ve listened to it much, but I made a Miles Davis radio station on Pandora, and it’s awesome. I’ve been listening to it for days.

Sean: I made that radio station, but yeah, it’s great.

Me: Nooooo. I made that station.

Sean: I distinctly remember making it.

Me: Well, the point is, I’m really enjoying the radio station that I made.

Sean: That I made.

Me: That I made.

Sean: I know I made a station like that.

Me: Well, I know I made that station, not one like it.

Sean: Well it is a good one.

Me: I know! I created a great station.

Sean: I created.

Me: I mean, I’d make my own Pandora account, but I’ve put so much work into making these stations great.

Sean: Yeah, the stations I made.

Me: I made.

And so on.

But here’s the point: I’m right. I’ll even give you an example of why I’m right, so that you can have a bigger picture idea of how I know I’m right.

Me: [out on the back porch, drinking a glass of wine, reading a novel]

Sean: [Comes out, starts rummaging through the storage shed]

Me: [glances up quickly, then back down to novel] Whatcha doing?

Sean: Well…. I’m looking for the coolant fluid, because I’m going to check the fluid in the truck.

Me: [still not looking up] It’s empty.

Sean: How do you know? Did you check it?

Me: Nope. It just is. I know.

Sean: How?

Me: [still reading] It just is.

Sean: Well we’ll just see.

Me: You’ll just see. I already know.

Sean: [leaves to check fluids in the truck, then comes back, and says nothing.]

Me: Well?

Sean: [just enough of a pause, that he knows that I know] It was empty.

Me: I know. That’s what I said.

Clearly, I MADE the Miles Davis Radio Station. How? I just know.

photo found
2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Miss Marti said, on 27 January 2011 at 7:23 pm

    I miss on your blog. This is too funny. Come on – you can start writing again.

  2. Miss Marti said, on 4 April 2011 at 11:47 am

    Makes me laugh every time I read it.


Leave a Reply

